epa000292280 A Somali Member of Parliament for the Transitional Federal Parliament for the Somali Republic cast his vote as the first round of voting began to elect a President, Sunday, 10 October 2004, in Kenya's capital Nairobi. Somali peace talks have been ongoing for almost two years in Kenya culminating in this extraordinary session of parliament held outside its own borders. EPA/STEPHEN MORRISON

Somalia’s Federal Indirect Elections Team (FIET) on Friday released a revised version of the elections timetable for the election of country’s Parliament.

According to the timetable, the finalized list of Senatorial candidates is to be announced on July 24. Federal Member State parliaments will elect Senators between July 25 and July 28 and the results will be announced on August 1.

The assemblies of four regional states including Southwest, HirShabelle, GalMudug and Jubbaland will elect eight senators each. Somaliland and Puntland will be election eleven members each, to represent them at the Upper House.

Candidates wishing to contest for parliamentary seats should submit their names and payments from September 2-7.

The elections of Lower House members will be held from September 12 to October 2. Each MP will be elected by 101 delegates.

275 elected MPs will be sworn in on October 7. The country’s presidential election is also expected to take place on October 10.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here